Leicestershire Chess League

The Leicestershire and Rutland Chess Association runs the Leicestershire Chess League, which currently has four Divisions.  Each Division contains seven or eight teams.  Matches are played on a home and away basis, with four boards per match.  League matches are played to a slow time control (usually 75 minutes per player with a 10-second increment per move), so games typically last 2–3 hours.

The League season runs approximately from October to April.  For the 2021-22 season, we have two teams, in Divisions 2 and 4.

Over the May to September period, we participate in the Summer Cups, which follow a different format.  These include rapidplay competitions, which are faster-paced games than in the League.